Followers

Now on Instagram!

Instagram

Follow by Email

Be a Social Blogger

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #93

 
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine and is where we can talk about books we are looking forward to being released.
 
 
Larkswood
 
Summary:
 
In the tradition of THE FORSYTE SAGA, a sweeping historical novel that spans three generations, telling the dark secrets of a family torn apart.

Larkswood House. The very name suggests birdsong, peace and elegance. It is home to the Hamilton children - Edward, Cynthia and Harriet - who enjoy the freedom and excitement of privilege. But in the glorious summer of 1896, with absent parents and a departed governess, disaster strikes the family, leaving it cruelly divided.

More than forty years later, on the eve of the Second World War, Louisa Hamilton, newly presented at court but struck down with glandular fever, is sent to Larkswood to recuperate. There, for the first time, she meets her grandfather, Edward, home after decades in India. Haunted by terrible memories, the arrival of his granddaughter begins to gladden his heart.

But as Louisa begins to fall under the spell of Larkswood, she realises it holds the key to the mystery that shattered her family two generations before. Will she find the courage to unravel the dark secrets of the past? And can Larkswood ever become home to happiness again?
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 400 pages (Paperback)
Expected Publication Date: January 16th 2014 by Orion
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
I love a good old family saga and the premise of this one really caught my eye.
 
The Silversmith's Wife
 
Summary:
 
Stunning commercial historical fiction, perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier The year is 1792 and it's winter in Berkeley Square. As the city sleeps, the night-watchman keeps a cautious eye over the streets, and another eye in the back doors of the great and the good. Then one fateful night he comes across the body of Pierre Renard, the eponymous silversmith, lying dead, his throat cut and his valuables missing. It could be common theft, committed by one of the many villains who stalk the square, but as news of the murder spreads, it soon becomes clear that Renard had more than a few enemies, all with their own secrets to hide. At the centre of this web is Mary, the silversmith's wife. Ostensibly theirs was an excellent pairing, but behind closed doors their relationship was a dark and at times sadistic one and when we meet her, Mary is withdrawn and weak, haunted by her past and near-mad with guilt. Will she attain the redemption she seeks and what, exactly, does she need redemption for…? Rich, intricate and beautifully told, this is a story of murder, love and buried secrets.

'A dense, intricate historical thriller centering around the murder of a silversmith - in the tradition of Iain Pears' An Instance of the Fingerpost and Hilary Mantel's Wolf Hall' Sophie Hannah and Janet Todd, judges of the Lucy Cavendish Prize
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 400 pages (E-book)
Expected Publication Date: January 16th 2014 by Simon & Schuster UK
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
I love historical fiction but I really love when a murder is mixed in and when I saw this on another blogger's Teaser Tuesday post I looked it up and now I can't wait to read it.
 
What are YOU waiting for this Wednesday?  
 

12 comments:

  1. These book sound really good, I hadn't heard of either. :) On to my wish list they go.

    Erin @ Let's Evaluate
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  2. Larkswood sounds really interesting. I like multi-generation stories too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh wow these both sounds really good and they are completely new to me!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great picks! Both books sound very interesting. I might have to start reading more historical fiction :)

    My WoW :)


    Jackie @Jackie's Book World

    ReplyDelete
  5. I see lots of drama in both your picks! Good job ;)

    Here's my WOW

    ReplyDelete
  6. Larkswood definitely looks interesting - nice pick.

    Here's my WOW

    ReplyDelete
  7. Hmmm not my cup of tea but both those covers are beautiful! Happy Wednesday.
    My WOW
    http://hauntedgravebooks.blogspot.com/2013/12/waiting-on-wednesday-dorothy-must-die.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love the covers and they sounds interesting, thanks for sharing!
    Check out our WOW of this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

    ReplyDelete
  9. Larkswood sounds so good! And I love that cover!

    Lisa
    WW&WoW

    ReplyDelete
  10. Historical fiction is my favorite. These both sound wonderful but Larkswood is particularly eye-catching!

    ReplyDelete
  11. The first book is really interesting, but I'm not sure whether or not to read it because the cover is creepy! I sure would want to find out what happens though! Happy holidays! :D
    Waiting on Wednesday
    One Million Pages

    ReplyDelete
  12. Really great sounding books that caught my attention. I hadn't heard of them before. So adding these books to my TBR list when they come out.

    Grace
    Books of Love
    http://gracebooksoflove.com

    ReplyDelete

I love your comments! So feel free to comment away I'll try to answer every post so check back! . Also feel free to leave a link to your blog and I will absolutely follow you back :) Happy Reading!
*Note: This is an award free blog, thanks for thinking of me but I simply don't have the time to pass it along!